Nail Ministry

“Before I formed you in the womb I knew you, before you were born I set you apart; I appointed you as a prophet to the nations.” -Jeremiah 1:5

It seems as I grow I always face obstacles. We are never without them to the extent that we must rely COMPLETELY ON GOD.

He knew my flaws, my poor choices I would make, etc. AND STILL DIED FOR MY SINS.

I can’t even comprehend it sometimes.

As I wrap up my Master’s degree, I guess I started putting my security in money. I didn’t realize it until I got to the source of my anxiety. Materialism.

Despite this, Christ loves me.

My mom graciously listened to me complain about money. And do you know what grace is? “Kerrigan, we have great jobs, but we don’t have extravagent vacations or fancy cars. Your father and I decided education was important, and though sometimes we are strapped financially is it because of these things. I know you’re working hard and that’s all we ask. Go get your nails done if it makes you feel better and I put some money in your account for groceries as well.”

It doesn’t matter about money; Jesus is center. Well, He SHOULD be center. He should be my consuming fire. However, I all too frequently look to fake lights.

However, in His grace He’s made me a missionary in the nail salon. I remember before Peru going to get my nails done. I thought it was crazy, but I felt God prompting me. I mean, here I was about to go to Peru for missions for 10 weeks and you want me to PRIMP myself?! However, God graciously led me to something I love and makes me feel good AND gave me opportunities to ministry to other in the salon. It really is a broken world out there, and what better way to talk to other women I don’t see on a regulalr basis and share the Christ’s love? The nail salon, baby!

About kerrigands

Aspiring health professional who loves Spanish, art & running. I <3 Jesus, too.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Nail Ministry

  1. Z says:

    Seek God, and everything else will bed added unto you. Easier said than done. But, at least you realize this. lol 🙂

Leave a Reply

